THIS IS HOW IT WAS (PSALM OF GRIEF)

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me, Father?

 

Daddy’s gone, Mama’s home

Lying in the bed

Demons are in sister’s blood

Brother’s eyes are dead

The miles between these frozen fields

Are longer than whistle’s blow –

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me?

Sometimes I just don’t know

 

Daddy, oh, where did you go?

You’re a big boss man, I know

Hours, numbers, suit and tie, there’s

Less of you the more I grow

The distance of these frozen flights

Are longer than whistle’s blow

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me?

Sometimes I just don’t know

 

Mama sleeps, dreams of sheep

Neat and white as snow

While wolves rush in with sugar lips

And her flock don’t know to say no

The wanderings of these un-marked trails

Are longer than whistle’s blow

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me?

Sometimes I just don’t know

 

Sister feels a battlefield

Runs screaming in her sleep

The demons want to be cut loose

And bad blood it runs deep

The beats between these cold hard hearts

Are longer than whistle’s blow

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me?

Sometimes I just don’t know

 

Brother mine I miss the times

I saw sunshine in your face

But I’m not the one to bring it back

I must trust the ways of grace

But the hours beneath these hoarfrost stars

Are longer than whistle’s blow

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me?

Sometimes I just don’t know

 

Can you hear me, Father?

Can you hear me, Father?

 

 

This Is How It Was (Psalm of Grief) – Stacia Joy

 

 

 

Comments are closed.